Personal Injury & Accident Lawyers San Diego, CA

Mission Legal Center Mission Legal Center Location Contact Mission Legal Center

Call Us Now for a
FREE Case Evaluation:


Were You In an Accident or Have You Been Wrongfully Injured? Our San Diego Personal Injury Law Firm Can Help You!

At Mission Legal Center, Your Case Receives Our Full Attention with Our 25 Years of Successful & Expert Legal Experience


Bicycle Accident Personal Injury Attorney in San Diego



Hundreds of deaths and tens of thousands of injuries are caused by bicycle accidents each year, oftentimes because of negligence or wrongdoing on the part of another. When bicyclists in San Diego are involved in a collision or are struck by a vehicle, it can be life threatening, and can certainly lead to injuries that last a lifetime.

That's why you need the experience of top rated San Diego bicycle accident attorneys like Mission Legal Center Personal Injury who can advocate for your rights and ensure you receive the lawful treatment and compensation you are entitled to in Southern California.

Call us for a free consultation and case-specific guidance today at 619-564-4455

What are the California Bike Laws?

California Vehicle Code VC 21201 addresses bicycle equipment requirements. An injury attorney can always give further clarification and information regarding California law. For example:

What about helmet safety?

According to the Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute, approximately 540,000 bicyclists visit the ER each year, and 67,000 of those sustain head injuries. Additionally, 60% of bicycle-related deaths are as a result of fatal head injuries.

The following are must-follows for helmet safety:

What about bike safety for kids?

The helmet: The bike: The ride:

What is the statute of limitations for bike accidents in San Diego?

The statutory period for a person involved in a bicycle accident to file a claim is 2 years or 6 months if a governmental entity is involved. If the lawsuit to seek damages isn't filed within that period, a judge may deny the claim. There are exemptions to the statutory period, for example, if a person suffered a concussion, and extensions can be granted if injuries from the accident weren't discovered until later.

When a minor is involved in a bike accident, he/she may wait up until his/her 20th birthday to file a claim. This is because minors are permitted to file any time up until their 18th birthday, at which point the two-year statutory period begins.

If you have any questions about filing a claim, contacting a San Diego personal injury attorney can give you peace of mind and guide you through the next steps. Consulting with an expert as soon as possible will ensure that you file within the statutory period.

Who is at fault in a San Diego bicycle accident?

Bicyclists, especially when involved in an accident with a motorist, are extremely vulnerable to serious injuries such as: brain injury, head trauma, broken bones and fractures, lacerations and even spinal cord injury.

Although some states conclude that the driver is always at fault in a car vs. bike accident, California is a little different. In San Diego, the fault lands on the negligent party and that party is responsible for all of the damages. According to California law, "everyone is responsible, not only for the result of his or her willful acts, but also for an injury occasioned to another by his or her want of ordinary care or skill in the management of his or her property or person�" Cal. Civ. Code § 1714(a)

When proving negligence, it has to be demonstrated that the motorist or bicyclist acted carelessly and that's what caused the accident. Property damage and/or personal injury must exist as a result of the negligence.

What is the next step?

If you suffered serious injury as a result of a motorist's carelessness, contact Mission Legal Center. We are San Diego Personal Injury Attorneys with a proven record of success in helping those who have been a victim of a bicycle accident, to receive the necessary medical attention, care and treatment you need, in addition to compensation for future care you may require. Call for a free consultation and case-specific guidance: (619) 564-4455. You may also contact us or follow us on Facebook.

As a family owned and operated San Diego Personal Injury and Accident Law Firm, Mission Legal Center is conveniently located in Mission Valley - San Diego, California.

FAQ's

Q: What is the statute of limitations for bike accidents in San Diego?

A: The statutory period for a person involved in a bicycle accident to file a claim is 2 years. If the lawsuit to seek damages isn't filed within that period, a judge may deny the claim. There are exemptions to the statutory period, for example, if a person suffered a concussion, and extensions can be granted if injuries from the accident weren't discovered until later. When a minor is involved in a bike accident, he/she may wait up until his/her 20th birthday to file a claim. This is because minors are permitted to file any time up until their 18th birthday, at which point the two-year statutory period begins.

Q: Who is at fault in a San Diego bicycle accident?

A: Although some states conclude that the driver is always at fault in a car vs. bike accident, California is a little different. In San Diego, the fault lands on the negligent party and that party is responsible for all of the damages. According to California law, "everyone is responsible, not only for the result of his or her willful acts, but also for an injury occasioned to another by his or her want of ordinary care or skill in the management of his or her property or person..." Cal. Civ. Code § 1714(a) For more information about bicycle injuries suffered in San Diego, click here.

Q: What should I do if I've been injured in a bicycle accident in San Diego County?

A: If you suffered serious injury as a result of a motorist's carelessness, contact Mission Legal Center. We are San Diego Personal Injury Attorneys with a proven record of success in helping those who have been a victim of a bicycle accident, to receive the necessary medical attention, care and treatment you need, in addition to compensation for future care you may require. For more information about bicycle injuries suffered in San Diego, click here.

If you have any questions about filing a claim regarding a bicycle injury suffered in San Diego County, contact a San Diego personal injury attorney today.